Moulting

13 Jan

I’m going to hide from London,

Take a bow round sundown,

Find my cellar door,

Shed my lion’s skin,

Get serpentine;

I’m as fond of the hiss as I am of the roar.

 

http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/

13 Responses to “Moulting”

  1. Draug419 January 14, 2013 at 1:07 am #

    Ooh this is so cool (: Although when I clicked your link it didn’t take me to this post so you might want to double-check that for future prompts! (Could have just been my phone acting dumb…)

  2. trifectawriting January 14, 2013 at 1:22 am #

    This is really good. And Draug is right–this didn’t link correctly. I’ll go in through the back and see if I can fix it.

    • dukeloath January 14, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

      Seems OK now. Thanks for the fix.

      • dukeloath January 14, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

        …and the nice comment!

  3. barbara January 14, 2013 at 2:30 am #

    I think your link is just fine – as I came right here. 🙂

    I like this – in a disturbing sort of way – the line about the cellar took me back to a childhood rhyme: Playmate, won’t you come out and play with me . . . we’ll slide down the cellar door . . . Anyway – good read. thanks

  4. atrm61 January 14, 2013 at 5:55 am #

    We all wear different skins & masks & sometimes we like to play two diametrically opposite roles.Loved the last line-says it all:-)

  5. joetwo January 14, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    Nice metaphor. Well done!

  6. KymmInBarcelona January 14, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    Glad it’s fixed. This is amazing. Cheers.

  7. Mike January 14, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    A wonderful piece of writing. So much to get the head round in just 33 words.

  8. lovethebadguy January 14, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    Such a powerful message in 33 words!

    Out of curiousity, have you ever watched “Donnie Darko”? (I ask only because of “cellar door”.) 😉

    • dukeloath January 15, 2013 at 1:34 am #

      I have, and Donnie appears in another poem I’m working on.

  9. dukeloath January 15, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    Super Über chuffed at the accolade of third place in last weekend’s challenge. And super-duper about the support from the Trifecta community; every supportive word adds lubrication to my writing joints.

Leave a comment